top of page

Do You Believe in Ghosts?

Updated: Feb 11, 2022

Do you believe in ghosts? I certainly do, otherwise, this site wouldn’t exist. According to www.usatoday.com, “65% of Americans told Pew they believe in the supernatural — reincarnation, spiritual energy, yoga as spiritual practice, the “evil eye,” astrology, connecting with the dead, consulting a psychic or experiencing a ghostly encounter. And 49% say they've had "a religious or mystical experience."”

Honestly, 65% was a lot more than I expected! With America being predominantly Christian, (70.6% of Americans are Christians according to www.pewforum.org) I thought many Americans wouldn’t believe in ghosts.

I’ve seen a ghost. I know I’ve for sure seen one. And I’m sure she was a ghost because gorgeous women slowly going down the stairs don’t disappear into thin air as you’re staring at them with your mouth wide open. Let me elaborate…

I live in a small town in the middle of nowhere. There is a beautiful building called The Arrow Hotel that has been around since 1928. I’ve heard stories from people at school about it being haunted, and I was sure it was. I was thirteen at the time but I knew that if there were stories about a place being haunted, that story had to have been started somehow by something spooky happening.

The stories I’ve heard from my friends and the older kids trying to scare us were about a black cat at the bottom of the stairs, an old man that occasionally appears to sit at the bar, and remotes being thrown around in rooms, but I have never heard stories of the woman in the red dress.

I saw her on October 14th, 2016. My grandfather, my sister, and I were eating in the restaurant on the ground floor of The Arrow Hotel. We had just finished eating and I wanted to wash my hands because I had touched something sticky under the table. To get to the bathroom, you have to pass the stairs leading up to the hotel rooms. As I was passing the stairs, something shiny caught my eye.

I looked to my left to see the most beautiful woman I have ever laid my eyes upon. She was wearing a lovely red flapper dress with a black headband, and she had bold red lipstick, and black hair pinned up in the 1920s style. By the time I had assessed the way she looks and the slow and confident way she was walking, she just disappeared.

Of course, people looked at me weird because I was just a kid staring at the stairs. I was embarrassed and rushed to the bathroom because my first thought was that I was going crazy and I was seeing things. As I was sure I wasn’t losing my marbles, I realized I saw a ghost.


I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a very long time, but I was never confident enough to start it. I always worried about if anyone would read it or if I would enjoy it, but of course I’m going to enjoy it! I love to write and I love “spooky shit.” If I’m the only person that enjoys Gwenyth’s Graveyard, that’s fine because I’m the only person that really needs to enjoy this in order for it to work. I’m going to suck the marrow out of life before I kick the bucket and haunt some place that has no meaning to anyone other than myself.

Thank you for reading my first article. Happy Haunting ;)




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hello, Friends

It’s been two years since my last blog post and I completely forgot what my writing voice was like. I forgot I was flowery and fun while...

Book Suggestions July-August 2022

Hello, wonderful witches and weirdos! I would apologize again but I’ve come to terms with not having to apologize for doing my best, even...

Another Apology

Hello, dear readers. I’m sorry for another absence. I know now that I am writing to no one but myself, but oh well. I’ve recently...

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.

Thanks for reading! Subscribe to stay updated on new posts and articles

20210403_083752.jpg

#StaySpooky

Posts Archive

Join in on all the spooky fun...

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page