top of page

Another Apology

Hello, dear readers. I’m sorry for another absence. I know now that I am writing to no one but myself, but oh well.


I’ve recently graduated from high school and somehow I managed to get through I all. Six months ago, I truly believed the world had nothing for me. Six months ago, I planned on being dead in a field somewhere. Parts of my decision against suicide were as follows: I found somewhere safe and happy to go after high school, I’d leave a gaping hole in a few people’s lives if I was suddenly gone, and one student suicide this school year is far too much. I didn’t want to be another tragedy.


I’ve been busy moving and trying to get my life in order. My living space has been messy and so has my mental health. A poor diet, low self-esteem, depression, anxiety, etc, do not help with the motivation to clean and unpack small things.


The nightmares have worsened and my sleep schedule has been fucked beyond any semblance of something healthy. I find myself waking up around 1 A.M. to 4 A.M. and being unable to go back to sleep. Past traumas keep worming their way into my brain at night, and I’ve found myself missing when I would have scary dreams of vampires wanting to hurt me and eat my horse. Blood-thirsty night creatures would be a bit more bearable than reliving traumatic memories nearly every night. Sometimes 2-3 times a night. It’s exhausting.


A new mother figure made me rest today. I have slowly been burning myself out with school work, crochet projects, wanting to read a hundred books, moving, trying to deal with an exhausting family, and hoping my friends that are struggling much more than I are being kind to themselves, and more. I took a nap that lasted three hours and I woke up being able to feel joy again. It had been a few days haha.


Now that I have the time to pursue things that set my soul alight, I have no excuse for not writing. Well, I have one reason not to write. I’m currently the only person that reads this blog. Even though that’s the case, I see no reason as to why I can’t chase something that brings me a little joy.

I apologize to you for being gone, and I apologize to myself for not being good to my mind, soul, and body. I will do my best to start a proper release schedule for reading material for you ghouls.


I’m trying with all my might to find joy and metaphorical sunshine in the small things I used to be able to do. As I’m writing this, I’m appreciating the nighttime view of this sadly conservative town I’m stuck in. I miss being able to see the stars. I miss living in the country with a silly black dog that didn’t know how to play gently. But now that I live in town again, I have quick access to a library, the grocery store isn’t too far away, and my friends don’t have to drive 22 miles if they want to hang out with me in their free time.

I realized today that tomorrow is Friday the 13th, so I will do my best to get something worthwhile to you. We have also passed the first birthday of Gwenyth’s Graveyard! These two events have further prompted me to write. I regret that I couldn't write on the anniversary of one of my few joy's birth, but alas... ear wax (please get the reference!)


With much love,

Gwenyth Ravencroft

12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Hello, Friends

It’s been two years since my last blog post and I completely forgot what my writing voice was like. I forgot I was flowery and fun while...

Book Suggestions July-August 2022

Hello, wonderful witches and weirdos! I would apologize again but I’ve come to terms with not having to apologize for doing my best, even...

1 Comment


oceandreamer8
May 13, 2022

I'm happy that you are in a place where you can start writing again! And I hope you all the best in your life. It's always fun to read the ramblings of small writers, and you are certainly no exception! Eagerly awaiting the next addition of Gwenyth's Graveyard!

Like

Thanks for reading! Subscribe to stay updated on new posts and articles

20210403_083752.jpg

#StaySpooky

Posts Archive

Join in on all the spooky fun...

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page