top of page

Book Suggestions July-August 2022

Hello, wonderful witches and weirdos! I would apologize again but I’ve come to terms with not having to apologize for doing my best, even if my best is someone else’s mediocre.

I’m writing this as I’m supposed to be relaxing on my vacation/mental health week, but the mood to write has struck and I can’t ignore it. The urge to write happens less and less now and I figure I should grasp it when it flies in front of me. Anyway, let’s actually get into what I want to write about.


Every three weeks, I’ll publish a “Book Suggestions” article. My favorite genres are true crime and fantasy, and if those aren’t your haunted bucket of bog water, that’s okay! I’m sure you can find suggestions for your favorite genres elsewhere like on Likewise or Google search.


I aim to read a book or listen to an audiobook every week so that there will be at least 2-3 books to suggest every time I publish one of these rambly doohickies. I really don’t care anymore if my paragraphs aren’t formed the way a dusty professor from Cambridge would want them, this is for my enjoyment, so let’s go.

Verify by Joelle Charnonneau

I finished this audiobook a few minutes ago on Libby and I LOVED IT! If you liked Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury or 1984 by George Orwell, I think you’d like Verify.

Here’s my description: In a futuristic U.S.A. where paper, books, and “disruptive” words are banned, our protagonist Meri is mourning the death of her mother and tries to figure out what her mother’s message was in her paintings. While going on a hunt for her mother’s inspiration, she becomes involved with an underground organization seeking to protect books and the true history of what lies inside of them.


The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

I finished this one two nights ago and the twists were so unexpected. Again, I LOVED this one. It seems like what the Grimm’s fairytales would be like if they weren’t watered down. Beautiful, unsettling, and all delicious.

Here’s my description: Alice has been moving from place to place all her life, always trying to run away from the bad luck that seems to follow her and her mom, Ella. Alice is the granddaughter of reclusive author of Tales from the Hinterland, the great and mysterious Althea Proserpine. After her mother is kidnapped by unusual people, Alice enlists the help of her schoolmate, Ellery Finch, a fanboy of Althea’s. They travel through New York in hopes of finding her mother and they get sucked into a very dark and twisted fantasy world.


Whew, what wonderful reads! Hopefully you’ll enjoy them as much as I did.

On a slightly disturbing note, I have a cyst on my left wrist that I’ve had since freshman year. It has begun to hurt more, so I can’t crochet and work on my Etsy shop (MossyFoxShop) as much as I want to. So that means I’ll be writing more. As I’ve said in my last article, I’d be working on making a regular publishing schedule. Here’s what I have so far…

Book Suggestions will be every three weeks, paranormal and cryptid articles will be published every 6-9 days, and Freyja Fridays will be every third Friday. Maybe they’ll be every first and third Friday. I haven’t made a permanent decision yet. You’ll get 12-24 spells, rituals, and/or shadow work prompts per year. Won’t that be fun? Yeah, it will be. I know.


I hope you enjoyed this edition of Gwenyth’s Graveyard. With adoration, Gwenyth Ravencroft.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hello, Friends

It’s been two years since my last blog post and I completely forgot what my writing voice was like. I forgot I was flowery and fun while...

Another Apology

Hello, dear readers. I’m sorry for another absence. I know now that I am writing to no one but myself, but oh well. I’ve recently...

Komentáře


Thanks for reading! Subscribe to stay updated on new posts and articles

20210403_083752.jpg

#StaySpooky

Posts Archive

Join in on all the spooky fun...

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page